RGD announces Judges for 2016 Student Awards

This year, RGD will present $23,000 in cash awards in all areas of communication design to student work selected by our panel of industry experts.


We're excited to introduce the outstanding group of judges who will be selecting the winners of this year's RGD Student Awards:


Bell Media Award for Motion Design

Josh Dudych, Director, Creative & Marketing Services, True North Sports & Entertainment, Winnipeg

Alan Krpan RGD, Creative Director, Riordon Design, Oakville

Hyein Lee RGD, Principal, Hyein Lee Illustration + Motion, Oakville


Berlin Award for Central Canada

Lisa Feehan, Creative Director, KEEN Creative, Sherwood Park

Elisa Hildebrand, Senior Art Director, Creative Fire, Saskatoon

Sarah Jackson, Creative Mind/Owner, The Office of Sarah, Edmonton

Mazi Javidiani, Art Director, Berlin, Edmonton


BOLD Award for Accessible Design

David Berman RGD, Strategic Accessibility Consultant, David Berman Communications, Ottawa

Michelle Hopgood RGD, Graphic Designer, Martin Prosperity Institute, Toronto

Edmund Li RGD, Associate/Senior Designer, Reich+Petch, Toronto

Michael Ortelli RGD, Founder, BOLD, Toronto


Cineplex Digital Media Award for Information Design

Ian Chalmers RGD, Creative Director, Pivot Design Group, Toronto

Bob Hambly RGD, Creative Director, Hambly & Woolley, Toronto

Linda Nakanishi, Design Director, Nascent Digital, Toronto

Laura Shaw, Creative Director, Cineplex Digital Media, Kitchener


Cinnamon Toast Award for Eastern Ontario

Yang Li RGD, Senior Art Director, Alphabet Creative, Ottawa

Bronwyn Mondoux, Creative Director/Owner, Cinnamon Toast, Ottawa

Michael Zavacky RGD, Art Director, McMillan, Ottawa


Cundari Award for Advertising/Promotional Design

Natalie Armata RGD, Co-Founder and Creative Director, Giants and Gentlemen, Toronto

Dean Martin, Creative Director, Branding and Design, Cundari, Toronto

Meggan Van Harten RGD, Principal Designer, Design De Plume, Sudbury

David Walker, Partner and Creative Director, Saint Bernadine, Vancouver


Entro Award for Placemaking Design

Ruth Farrugia RGD, Graphic Designer, City of Cote Saint-Luc, Montreal

Sonia Gulia RGD, Owner, Mocu, Toronto

Andrew Kuzyk RGD, Partner, Entro Communications, Toronto

Carey Van Eden RGD, Publications Officer, National Arts Centre, Ottawa


50 Carleton Award for Logo Design

Mark Buchner RGD, Partner/Creative Director, TBD Studio, Toronto

Tony Jurgilas RGD, Principal/Design Strategist, 50 Carleton, Sudbury

Karen Satok RGD, Principal, Sputnik Design Partners, Toronto

Michel Valois, President and Creative Chief, Chez Valois, Montreal


Forge Award for Typography

Frank Chartrand, Senior Designer, Edenspiekermann, Santa Monica

Nicola Hamilton RGD, Art Director, Chatelaine, Toronto

Tyson Hynes, Creative Director, Breakhouse, Halifax

Stüssy Tschudin RGD, Principal, Forge, Toronto


Gravity Inc. Award for Social Good Design

Steven Cox, Creative Director, Cause+Effect Design, Vancouver

Stephen Garwood RGD, Partner/Creative Director, Faren Agency, Toronto

Wendy Gray RGD, Creative Director, Gravity Inc, Toronto

Jim Ryce, Principal, Jim Ryce Design, Toronto


Haft2 Award for Colour

Nicolas Boissy, Creative Director, Orangetango, Montreal

Jonathan Cruz, Creative Director, NUSCHOOL, Iqualuit

Vanessa Eckstein RGD, Founder, Blok Design, Toronto

Paul Haft, President/Chief Colour Officer, Haft2, Toronto


Intent Award for GTA

Evelyn Csiszar RGD, Owner, Evi Designs, Toronto

Ben Hagon RGD, Creative Director & President, Intent, Toronto

Gilbert Li RGD, Creative Director, The Office of Gilbert Li, Toronto

Paul Van Dongen RGD, Design Director, Committee, Toronto


lg2 boutique Award for Quebec

Stéphanie Forest, Creative Director, Capital One, Montreal

Carolane Godbout, Co-Creative Director, Akufen, Montreal

David Kessous, Creative Director, Design, lg2, Montreal

Audree Lapierre, Creative Director/Founder, Ffunction, Montreal


Milestone Award for Digital Marketing Design

Chris Duchaine, Associate Creative Director, Milestone, Kitchener

Cathy Ledden RGD, Create iT All, Ledden Design, Toronto

Linda Pelley RGD, Gumbo Design Co., Toronto

Marie Poulin, Co-Founder & Chief Strategist, Oki Doki, Vancouver


Parcel Award for Print Design

Gary Beelik, Partner, Parcel, Toronto

Nathalie Cusson, Principal/Creative Director, Scooter Design, Montreal

Nicole Vallee RGD, Creative Director, Sales and Marketing, Epicure, Victoria


q30 Award for Brand Design

Reanna Evoy, Brand Creative Director, Kit and Ace, Vancouver

Aleece Laird Affiliate Member of RGD, Partner, Fresh Inc, Kamloops

Peter Scott RGD, Principal, q30 design, Toronto


Rethink Award for British Columbia

Jackie-Duys-Kelly, Communication Designer, Awarewolf Creative, Nanaimo

Katie Maasik, Lead Graphic Designer, Lululemon, Vancouver

Lisa Nakamura, Creative Director of Design, Rethink, Vancouver

Roy White RGD, Founder/Creative Director, Subplot, Vancouver

Quarry Award for Western Ontario

Amanda Bolte RGD, Associate Creative Director, Arcane, London

Breck Campbell RGD, Creative Director, Breck Campbell Design, Windsor

Michael Palmer, Executive Creative Director, Quarry, Kitchener

Cai Sepulis RGD, Illustrator + Art Director, Ballyhoo Media, Guelph

SapientNitro for Interaction Design

Gurjot Bhuller, Creative Director, EnvisionUP, Ottawa

Chad Borlase, Creative Director, SapientNitro, Toronto

Ruen Ellis RGD, Executive Creative Director, Mojo Transformation, NYC

Marc Trudel RGD, Creative Director, eSolutions Group, Kitchener


Shikatani Lacroix Award for Packaging Design

Russell Gibbs, Principal, Russell Gibbs Design, Hamilton

Gary Oakley, Creative Director, Shikatani Lacroix, Toronto

Corey Ripley, Principal/Creative Director, Exhibit A: Design Group, Vancouver

Robert Smith RGD, Creative Catalyst, Greenmelon, Ottawa


Studio123 Award for Northern Ontario

Maurissa Grano RGD, Partner, Creative Odyssey, Sudbury

Tony Jurgilas RGD, Principal/Design Strategist, 50 Carleton, Sudbury

Roxann Shapwaykeesic RGD, Communications Officer, Through the Sky Studio, Thunder Bay

Nico Taus RGD, Creative Director, Studio123, Sudbury


Tamm + Kit Award for Strategic Design

Julian Brown RGD, Creative/Chaser, ON THE CHASE!, Oshawa

Ciabh McEvenue, Tamm + Kit, Toronto

Jenny Smith, President/Creative Designer, Ray Creative Agency, St. John's


Usability Matters Award for User Experience

Gerard Dolan RGD, Director of User Experience & Design at Investor's Group, Toronto

Sarah English, Managing Partner, Usability Matters, Toronto

Iffat Jokhio RGD, Senior Designer, Pivot Design Group, Mississauga

Richard Plantt RGD, Senior Designer, Concept Interactive, London