Two Canadian Executives Named '2016 DesignThinker of the Year'

CEOs of Tangerine & Beau's Brewery Receive Prestigious Honour as the Association of Registered Graphic Designers and Rotman School of Management name Peter Aceto and Steve Beauchesne Canada's 2016 DesignThinkers of the Year. 


The Association of Registered Graphic Designers (RGD), together with the Rotman School of Management, is excited to announce that Peter Aceto, President/CEO of Tangerine and Steve Beauchesne, co-founder/CEO of Beau's All Natural Brewing have been named Canada’s DesignThinkers of the Year.  


The awards were presented at a ceremony on Friday, November 4 as part of the 2016 DesignThinkers Conference at the Sony Centre in Toronto, in the presence of over 1,500 professionals and students from the creative industry. A video of the presentation ceremony is available for viewing here



Tangerine is dedicated to helping Canadians live better lives by helping them make smarter decisions with their hard-earned money. "We’re trying to redefine what a bank means in the lives of Canadians, and we’re starting with the client experience," explains Peter Aceto. "We approach design thinking with a deep empathy for the challenges our consumers face." The bank is now looking toward international expansion, and leading their strategy with design thinking principles. 



Beau's is a family-run, organic, independent brewery established in 2006. The Beau's family takes pride in creating unique craft beer, conceived with consideration for the environment and local communities, and delivered with a sense of friendly relationship. "Design, as far as I’m concerned, is a way to translate your ideals and values into something people can touch and see and hold," explains Steve Beauchesne. "The correlation between design and success is so tied together. It’s impossible to separate them." 



Together, these two case studies illustrate the impact that design thinking, innovation and creativity can have when implemented effectively in organizations of any size and sector.


About the DesignThinker of the Year Award

Now in its fourth year, the DesignThinker of the Year Award program recognizes Canadian corporate leaders who use design and innovation to solve business problems and drive growth. Past recipients include: Larry Rosen, CEO of Harry Rosen Inc.; David Labistour, President/CEO of MEC; Michael Emory, President/CEO of Allied Properties REIT; and Stephen Alexander, founder of Cumbrae’s.