Aiap Women in Design Awards

AWDA is a project by Cinzia Ferrara, Laura Moretti and Daniela Piscitelli, organized by Aiap. It is a biennial Award open to visual communication women designers in its third edition.

Deadline: July 28, 2017


The Award originates within aiap’s research activities, and aims at reconstructing and acknowledging the contribution that many visual communication women designers have given and continue to give to the universe of graphic design.


Participation in the Award is opened only to women designers that fall within the four sections of the Award, covering various phases in the educational and professional life of visual communication women designers and providing a comprehensive overview of projects in this area of design.


The four categories are aimed at: professionals, researchers and teachers, students and a special career award.


The Award includes the following three categories:

1. Professionals Category
Eligible entrants in this category are: owners of professional firms, professionals, employees of the studio, freelance, collective. For employees and freelancers a release form, signed and stamped by the study / agency / owner certifying the intellectual property of the project presented, must be attached to the project.


2. Research and Training Category
Eligible entrants in this category are: University, High Schools, Public and/or Private Institutions Professors and Researchers, scholars who have focused their research on issues of visual communication.


3. Students Category
Eligible entrants in this category are: students who have completed their studies by not more than two years, students still attending colleges or Public and/or Private University, specialist schools, PhD, who have in their curriculum teaching visual communication projects, dissertations, research projects. The students will participate to this category don’t have to pay submission fee.


Special category
4. Lifetime Achievement Category

This Award is a "cameo" that Aiap wants to assign to those designers who have distinguished themselves in the course of their career in professional activity or for contributing authoritatively to the reflections on the design culture. It can also be understood as an Award to the memory. The Award of this prize is at the discretion of the jury.


Click here for more information.