Navigating the Journey – The Stream for Early Career Professionals
People always talk about the beginning and end of a journey, but what about the middle? Join us at Creative Directions to explore the magic of the middle, and how to keep (or start) building the career you want. You'll hear from other design professionals as they share knowledge and insights for making choices that carve your own purposeful path.
 

*Creative Directions delegates can attend presentations from any stream. Though you may find the presentations in this stream most fitting, you're welcome to attend others as well.

 

Tuesday, May 4

 

9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 1:00 PM AT – Opening Keynote with Aaron Draplin, Draplin Design Co.

 

10:15 AM PT / 1:15 PM ET / 2:15 PM AT Show Me the Money with Julian Brown RGD, Owner & Creative Direction at ON THE CHASE! Motion Design

 

11:30 AM PT / 2:30 PM ET / 3:30 PM AT – Panel Discussion: Agency, Studio, Freelance or In-House?

 

Ah, the big one: what environment do you want to work in? This panel will delve into the opportunities and challenges that arise with different workplaces.

 

Moderator: Ashley Tomlinson Prov. RGD, Freelance Graphic Designer

  • Chrisanne Daniels Prov. RGD, UX-UI Designer at HARD-LINE

 

12:45 PM PT / 3:45 PM ET / 4:45 PM AT – 15-minute Presentations + Q&A

 

Join this panel to hear tips for dealing with anxiety around presenting your work, pricing (and undervaluing) yourself and dealing with clients.

 

2:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM AT – Building Good Habits and Avoiding Bad Habits with Greg Dubeau RGD

 


 

Wednesday, May 5

 

9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 1:00 PM AT – Opening Keynote with Ellen Lupton, Leslie Xia and Kaleena Sales

 

10:15 AM PT / 1:15 PM ET / 2:15 PM AT – 15-minute Presentations + Q&A

 

9:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m. ... and passion projects. How do you make it work? Where do you find the time and energy to do more of what you love? Join this panel to hear their take on incorporating side projects into your main hustle.

 

11:30 AM PT / 2:30 PM ET / 3:30 PM AT – Panel Discussion: Staying Current from Home and How to Feel Less Disconnected

 

How are you doing while working from home? Panelists will share ways to handle Zoom fatigue, feel connected with your team (and yourself) and more.

Moderator: Ceri Higgs Prov. RGD, Graphic Designer at Techboomers.com

 

12:45 PM PT / 3:45 PM ET / 4:45 PM AT – You finished design schools and have a few years work experience under your belt. What now? with Vèronica Fuerte, Founder & Creative Directress of Hey Studio

 

2:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM AT – Panel Discussion: What Happens When You Lose Your Passion for Design?

 

Moderator: Armin Vit, Co-founder of UnderConsideration

 


 

Thursday, May 6 to Friday, May 7* 
 

  • Portfolio Reviews

  • Mentoring

  • Roundtables

  • Workshops

 

*Pre-registration is required. Limited spots. First come, first get.