Finding Your Way – The Stream for Students & New Grads
Like any adventure, beginning your design career is equal parts exciting and daunting. How do you prepare for the journey ahead? Join us at Creative Directions to hear from seasoned design professionals as they share insights, strategies and advice for navigating your first years in the design industry.

 

*Creative Directions delegates can attend presentations from any stream. Though you may find the presentations in this stream most fitting, you're welcome to attend others as well.

 

Tuesday, May 4

 

9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 1:00 PM AT – Opening Keynote with Aaron Draplin, Draplin Design Co.

 

10:15 AM PT / 1:15 PM ET / 2:15 PM AT – Panel Discussion: Hope in Uncertainty

 

It's an uncertain time to be starting your career. Join our panelists as they talk about the hope and opportunities that exist for new designers during this period in history.

 

 

11:30 AM PT / 2:30 PM ET / 3:30 PM AT – 15-minute Presentations

 

What do you want out of your career? Listen to these three successful design professionals as they share their career paths along with strategies for how you can land your dream job (and more importantly, figure out what it is)!

 

 

12:45 PM PT / 3:45 PM ET / 4:45 PM AT –  Presenting Your Work/Portfolio with Victor Szeto RGD

 

2:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM AT – Live Portfolio Public Critique

 


 

Wednesday, May 5

 

9:00 AM PT / 12:00 PM ET / 1:00 PM AT – Opening Keynote with Ellen Lupton, Leslie Xia and Kaleena Sales

 

10:15 AM PT / 1:15 PM ET / 2:15 PM AT – Panel Discussion: Job Searching in a Pandemic

 

Tune in to this panel to hear how employers are approaching the hiring process during the pandemic. How do they identify candidates? How do they evaluate them remotely? They'll answer these questions along with yours.

 

 

11:30 AM PT / 2:30 PM ET / 3:30 PM AT – 15-minute Presentations

 

Is your work wrapped up in your self-worth? Listen to three design professionals as they discuss maintaining confidence as a designer, tackling impostor syndrome and being the design expert.

 

 

12:45 PM PT / 3:45 PM ET / 4:45 PM AT – Developing Your Network with Despina Zanganas RGD

 

2:00 PM PT / 5:00 PM ET / 6:00 PM AT – Live Portfolio Public Critique

 


 

Thursday, May 6 to Friday, May 7*

 

  • Portfolio Reviews

  • Mentoring

  • Roundtables

  • Workshops

 

*Pre-registration is required. Limited spots. First come, first get.